.:E.L. James and the Foolishness on Twitter:.

Hello my darling friends. I hope that all of you are doing well.  Today I am feeling both bad and good, so I am pretty happy about it.  That means that there is light in the darkness. 🙂

What I wanted to talk about is the whole mess that happened with E.L. James and her Twitter Chat catastrophe.

I have never read the Shades of Grey books.  Nor have I wanted to.  It is no insult to James at all.  It is just the way I am.  Who knows perhaps in the future, when all the hype has died down, I will pick one up.

I did, though, find a video on YouTube about the things that we “probably” didn’t know about the movie.  I watched it.  While the video itself was really good (the narrator is hilarious with the way he words things,) the movie itself made me sad. I will explain why after I talk about what happened.

During the Twitter conversation, James ended up being on the receiving end of some very hurtful, abusive commentary. Things were said that shouldn’t have been.  They were insulting, rude and just down right atrocious.  Some examples:

  • Amanda states: “Is there a safe word we can use to get you to stop writing such drivel?
  • Andrew writes: “#AskELJames after the success of “Grey,” have you considered retelling the story from the perspective of someone who can actually write

It just gets worse and worse people.  This is a snippet from Deb Ng. of the Kommien blog, (link is here if you would like to check it out in full.)

“Some of the same people who go online and preach about haters and trolls are LOL’ing at the treatment E.L. James received because they don’t think she’s a very good writer.”

Are you serious?  The very content creators that are vying for the trolls and abuse to stop is also saying that it is OKAY for it to happen to another.  So it is perfectly fine for someone to be abused, bullied and hurt, just as long as it isn’t you?  That is BULLSHIT.  Period.  That is riding the line of hypocrisy to the point of pure dumbassery.  What if it was you sitting behind that screen?  hmmm….  Wouldn’t be all LOL, then would you.  We all start somewhere and I am pretty sure, your first “literary works” weren’t all that great either.  Or is it just that you are jealous about how well she is doing?  I would probably vote for that one.

And to all of the people that deemed it necessary to lash out with such hatred.  How about you write a book?  How about you get off that high horse and do it yourself if you think you are so smart.  Even if you didn’t like the work that she done, why not use your time helping?  Giving her constructive criticism?  Help her to get BETTER.  Instead of being a bunch of douchebags wanting to lynch someone.

As for my thoughts on the video I saw.

It made me sad.  It really did.  Because I didn’t see it as some erotic foolishness.  What I saw was a man that was so afraid of losing control of his life that he took control of others.  His self esteem was so breakable that his only way of staying “sane” and “together” was by Dominating another. This is not a book about sex and bondage to me.  Not anymore.  This is about someone’s psychological status.  Grey, himself, is a child in a mans body that doesn’t know what the hell he is doing with his life.  One that is afraid of becoming less that was he deems suitable.  It is a sad concept.

And who knows, I may be way off mark with this.  Honestly, I don’t care if I am.  Books and movies are different for everyone.  Their meanings a mismatch for each reader/viewer.

Ms. E.L.James.  I do know that you will probably never see this posting, but in case you do.

I’m sorry.  Truly and Deeply.  You did not deserve the abuse you have received. It was not fair to you.  You should have been treated with a lot more respect.  It is atrocious how people can be so cruel and vile.  It is childish, and I am blown away by the fact that so many people deem it necessary to settle for elementary school antics such as these.  I know that my apology is not enough to rid you of the pain I am sure you are going through right now, but I do hope that it eases it at least a small amount.

Leave a Reply

