.:Recipe Time!!! – Homemade Butter:.

Hello friends!  I hope that all of you are doing well.  I just have to tell you about this recipe that I just adore.  The very thought of spending a sh*t ton of money for “REAL” butter causes me to want to pound my head into a wall.  I went to the store yesterday and saw Land O Lakes “real butter” priced at 5 bucks.  5 BUCKS people.  That is atrocious.  I can still remember buying a huge freakin’ slab of it that would last for a whole money for not even a dollar.  *sighs*

So in my disappointment and sticker shock, I started thinking about HOW butter is made.  WHY can I not just make it at home?  The more I thought about it, the more my brain slurped up the very idea.  It was like Red Bull for the noggin!  I started researching the whole concept.  I looked up recipes, the how to’s.  You know you are desperate when you are looking for “butter” tutorials.  Well I am desperate.  I love me some real butter.

So here it is my friends. I share with you now the recipe to end all recipes.

HOMEMADE BUTTER!!!!!

1 quart heavy cream
3/4 teaspoon salt

Pour cream into bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment. Add salt. Cover mixer with a towel–trust me on this one, it will be messy! Turn mixer on high.
Continue mixing, checking on mixture frequently. It will first turn to whipped cream, then begin to get grainy and separate into butter and buttermilk, and the splashing will get much worse. The butter is ready when it sticks in a clump to the paddle
Place a colander (AKA the HOLY BOWL!) over a bowl, then strain the buttermilk off of the butter.
Using your hands or a spatula, press out excess buttermilk under cold running water until water runs clear. Shape into stick or ball. Butter will keep covered in refrigerator for up to 4 weeks.

Simple right?  Oh yeah.  I am in heaven.  Butter Heaven.

Leave a Reply

