.:Movie Review – The Lazarus Effect:.

Okay friends.  You know that when I watch a new movie, I want to give you my honest opinion about it.  Well, that is what I am going to do about The Lazarus Effect. And for the sake of time, I am going to give you the description as it is shown on the interwebs.

Medical researcher Frank (Mark Duplass), his fiancee Zoe (Olivia Wilde) and their team have achieved the impossible: they have found a way to revive the dead. After a successful, but unsanctioned, experiment on a lifeless animal, they are ready to make their work public. However, when their dean learns what they’ve done, he shuts them down. Zoe is killed during an attempt to recreate the experiment, leading Frank to test the process on her. Zoe is revived — but something evil is within her.

Now that I have that out of the way, here is my honest opinion.

The movie had a great idea behind it.  The concept of “bringing someone/thing back from the grave and what would it entail.  The effects were amazing, the imagining was amazing, the acting was fantastic.  But something in the whole mix was just off.  The story itself was just not substantial enough to keep it going and to keep it interesting to me.  Certain points were missing, and if they were buffed up then it would have made a bigger impact.  I just felt that it relied a little too much on the whole “jumpscare” thing that is popular now.  While its first use within a movie makes you piss yourself, the second, third and even fourth becomes boring as hell.  On top of the fact that the ending was in the realm of WTF???

I am trying to keep this where I don’t give away any spoilers and I am really finding it hard.

Friends, I am not saying that this movie is not good.  It is.. To a point.  But in the end, I will not be watching it again.  I do suggest going and watching it yourself.  You might think differently than me.

Now I am off to watch something more beefed out.  I think Friday the 13th (WITH KANE HODDER Y’ALL!) is in order.

And a little bit of useless knowledge.  Did you know that Kane Hodder’s version of Jason is the only one that murdered with his bare hands for 99% of the movies?  Yeah… Pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

