A Negative Life: How will you live?

It has taken me a few days to really think about this post.  3 days I have written, and have erased each time.  I am wanting to get the point across to all of you about negativity and how it affects our lives as a whole.  But for some reason, I am having a hard time really getting how I feel about this subject out there into the interwebs.

I am a firm believer in “Negativity breeds Negativity.”  It basically means “If you spend your time expecting negative things to happen, they will.”  I live my life in a Positive manner.  Because the other side of the negative coin is “Positivity BREEDS Positivity.”  That is a trait that many have not been able to accept within life.  And while, yes, it makes me sad to think that people wrap themselves in this cocoon of self-contaminating negativity, it also brings a sense of pride in myself.  I know that I have evolved and become more… how should I say this? Better.

Wow, that sounds a bit like narcissism does it not? But oh well.  I can’t change how I feel about it.  Well okay, I can, but I won’t.  Nor do I want to.  “Why?”  Because I will not accept negativity into my life.  Yes, bad things happen.  They happen to everyone, but I will not be sucked into the whirlpool is horridness.  I have flown above it, and there I will stay.

The thing is everyone, and this is important, if you spend your life thinking about nothing but the bad side of things, you are forgetting about what is good.  You don’t see the beauty of life anymore.  You wallow in your own self-pity, drowning in sorrows that no longer matter.  The past is over.  Nothing is going to change it.  Nothing anyone can do will be able to turn back time.  We aren’t Marty McFly and we do not have a magical Delorian.

There is a saying I have always lived by, “If you keep walking backwards, you miss what is in front of you.”  And I think that is the truest statement that can be made.  Those “PAST” blinders on, you can’t see what it is around you that makes the world such a beautiful place.  You are unable to see all the great things that you have accomplished, have created, have BECOME.  Because nothing but your “history” matters.

And honestly, you ruin it for everyone else.  You make everyone else around you miserable because all they want is for you to be happy.  There, the truth is out there.  I said it.  And no, I am not sorry.  This needs to be heard.  YOU need to hear it.

You sit around in your little bubble of misery, of self-destruction.  You wallow around in the excrement of your past and for what?  What is there to prove?  What is there to dwell on?  Your past is over and done with, gone with the passing of time.  And it is time for you to stand up and say, “Will I let the past rule me?  Or will I rule it?”  It is time for you to stand up to all that foolishness that flows in your brain and get the hell over yourself.  But dammit, it needs to be said.

I know that I sound harsh, I know that I sound cruel, but if you do not change this self-inducing pain, then you will never be able to be truly happy.

The past is history, the future is a mystery, but today is a gift – that’s why they call it “the present.”

I think that quote speaks volumes.  And it is very true.  We are given the gift of another glorious day, don’t ruin it people.  Accept your gift with love in your hearts and all things will turn out for the better.  Trust me.

To end this rant, I am bringing to you the bright words of Rafiki (yes the baboon from the Lion King)

“The past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it or learn from it.”

The Choice Is YOURS.

Leave a Reply

